News Archives

Jim Siefkes Award


The Jim Siefkes Justice-Maker Award was established by ReconcilingWorks in 1992 to recognize superior and tireless efforts of straight allies on behalf of LGBT Lutherans.


The criteria for the Jim Siefkes Justice-Maker Award reflect the contributions of its namesake:

  • Recipient must be a non-GLBT Lutheran who has made significant contributions to advancing justice for GLBT Lutherans
  • Actions should have a broad impact and not be limited to a particular local or region

Nominees for the Siefkes Award are evaluated and selected by the ReconcilingWorks Board of Directors, and the Award is presented at the ReconcilingWorks Biennial Assembly.  A nomination form is available here.

The Rev. Jim Siefkes obtained funding for and convened the initial meeting in Minneapolis in June of 1974 that resulted in the formation of Lutherans Concerned for Gay People (our original name). Even in retirement, Pastor Siefkes continues to advocate for the full inclusion and participation of LGBT Lutherans in the Lutheran Church.

Other recipients of the Siefkes Award:

The Rev. Stanley E. Olson, Bishop Emeritus
Joanne Chadwick
Dr. Paul Jersild
The Rev. Paul Tidemann
The Rev. James DeLange
The Rev. Reinie Heydemann
The Rev. Paul Egertson, Bishop Emeritus, and Shirley Egertson
Dr. Margaret Moreland and The Rev. Lowell Erdahl, Bishop Emeritus
Bennett Falk and The Rev. Jayne Thompson